Rubys Fontana Records

Discussion about Ruby Murray.
will

Rubys Fontana Records

Post by will »

Hi all im new to the form,but ive visited the site many times,I think its excellent all credit to Gerald and everyone else who helps him with it. As im sure you all know from the excellent song list on the site there are 8 songs of Ruby all recorded by Fontana which have never been issued on CD.One of them Ballyshannon is thankfully in the MP3 library.Which leaves 7 which are not available anywhere in digital form.They are as followes, The 6 mile song and Boys from the County Aramagh from LP the Spinning Wheel .Rathfriland on the Hill from LP This is Ireland, and 2 singles I Cant get you out of my Heart / Paper Mansions. And Going Home / Sooner or later. As a lot of people nowadays don't have a turntable or any means to play vinyl records,I was wondering if any of you out there might consider putting any or all of the 7 in the MP3 library.
The chances of Philip's or who ever owns them releasing them in the near future or in anyones lifetime seems very slim.
Heres hoping
All the best
Will

Bernie Burgess

Re: Rubys Fontana Records

Post by Bernie Burgess »

Hello Will, a big welcome to Ruby's wonderful website,

I think the best person to deal with your query would be Gerald, he is the technical whizz. I have alerted him to your post and although he appears to have his hands rather full right now, I feel quite sure he will come back you soon. Incidentally, I have been looking for a clean 'take' on Ruby's recording of 'Sooner or Later', I've worn my copy out.

Please stay around and do some delving/

Adios Amigo. Bernie

Gerald Lawrence

Post by Gerald Lawrence »

Welcome, Will - it seems the Registration process went successfully! Thank you for your kind words about this website. Do let us know a bit about how you came to be a Ruby Murray fan, and if you ever met her. This website only succeeds on little anecdotes from fans.